top of page
Search
erica

Things to do during CB

Finals have ended and I'm officially done with Year 2!! But all my plans of how to celebrate post-finals have been disrupted by covid-19 and circuit breaker. So we're all stuck at home now but staying at home doesn't have to be boring! Here are some ideas of what to do to find joy at home:



1. Bake

So one fine night, I was really bored and my sister had an intense craving for cookies. But all desserts stalls in Singapore are closed so we can't buy cookies anywhere but we had cookie mix at home!! So we decided to bake our own cookies haha. It was initially a disaster as we had to mix all the ingredients together but we used a whisk and all the cookie dough ended up being stuck on the whisk lol. So we ended up having to use our bare hands (with gloves of course) to mix the ingredients together and it turned out to be a success! (albeit a little burnt but it's alright it's still edible)



2. Spend quality time with your family

Very often, I will leave the dining table right after I am done with my food. I hardly sit and talk to my family during meals as I was always busy with school or I would eat outside with my friends. However, since we can't go out now and I have plenty of free time with no where to go, I decided to have steamboat with my fam (also cause I was craving for biap but no money to deliver biap lol)! Nonetheless, I had a really good japanese hotpot with my fam and it was one of the first few times in the year that I actually sat throughout the dinner instead of leaving once I was done with my food. So you can try this out too! It doesn't cost alot, good food lifts your spirits and you get to spend quality time with your family!



3. Show your friends some love

This is a very trying situation for many of us as humans are social creatures. We are not used to spending this much time away from our friends and indoors, facing our four walls every day. So take this chance to show your friends some love! Show them that they are still in your mind and we are all in this together. I know all bubble tea and dessert stalls are closed now since they are not essential services (even though they are my essentials cries) but you can always be creative in your gifts! I recently sent my boyfriend some dried fruit snacks from Greenday and they're not only healthy but also delicious to snack on! They have a really fast delivery service too! I think it only took 2 working days for the snacks to reach my boyfriend hehe hope he likes them!! (not sponsored btw)


4. Play online games with friends

Recently, there have been many new multiplayer online games out there. I think the game developers know we are really bored haha. Some games that I have been playing with my friends include Skribblio and 全民party! Skribblio is a game where one person will draw and the other will guess and you guys will take turn to draw and guess whereas 全民party is something like "don't forget the lyrics" where you guys will have to snatch the song and sing the correct lyrics out. There is also a full song karaoke version for people who just wanna sing their lungs out! I'm sure you will laugh till you get abs when you play them with your friends!


5. Read

Do you know that NLB provides thousands of ebooks on their website? You can now access the books you wanna read on your electronic device and read in your own comfort without having to go to the library to borrow them! How convenient is this! Initially, I couldn't get used to reading on the computer as I am a paper person (sorry for killing trees but I just can't seem to read on my laptop) but I got so addicted to reading online that I'm now returning to borrow my next book! Some books I recommend are: American Royals by Katherine McGee, Man Without Women by Haruki Murakami, Sad Girls by Lang Leav, Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan and The Things You Can See Only When You Slow Down by Haemin Sunim.


I hope you can find some joy in these little activities! Stay safe and stay healthy. May we all conquer this pandemic together!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Simple Pleasures

This is written for a module NM4247 Creative Writing in the Marketplace, about a place from childhood/ a place I would like to return to...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page